RSS

Caffe Verona

12 Feb

You never forget your first love. That’s how I feel about Verona. It was the first Starbucks coffee that I ever fell in love with, and I find myself going back to it whenever I need something familiar, comfortable. A coffee that will always bring back pleasant memories.

Verona is a dark roast coffee. It was originally created, like Casi Cielo, for service in a restaurant. In its origins, it was a blend of Yukon and Italian Roast coffees from Starbucks, but it has since evolved to become a new entity.

The more general searching I do about Verona, the more I find that I am not the only one to think of it as my first Starbucks love. I think it’s safe to say that Caffe Verona is a bridge, if you will, to the variety of coffees that are offered at Starbucks.

Verona is described as “Dark Cocoa and Roasty Sweet.” This coffee most definitely pairs well with decadent chocolate desserts. As a matter of fact, I must confess that sometimes, when I feel like having a bit of chocolate, I will pull out the Verona and organize a tasting, and I know I’m not the only one who does that! (Partners, am I right?)

In the photo above, you see one of the recent tastings that I participated in. We paired with Chocolate Cinnamon bread, which in this case, I actually would not recommend. The Verona actually tones down the Cinnamon in the bread and makes both coffee and pastry dull. My absolute favorite Starbucks pairing with Verona is the Double Chocolate Brownie, but I also love having a good piece of dark chocolate with it when I’m drinking at home.

What about you? Have you tried Verona? What are your experiences with Verona?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
